The collected official pages did not disclose Denuvo for Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy. Steam showed a requirement to accept a third-party end-user license agreement but did not display a Denuvo or third-party anti-tamper warning in the inspected section. Focus's FAQ and announcements also did not state a Denuvo policy. The defensible answer is “no Denuvo use was found in the researched disclosures,” not “the developer guarantees the game will always be DRM-free.”
Direct answer
There is no first-party confirmation in the source set that Resonance uses Denuvo, and no first-party statement promising that it does not. Store and database observations pointed in the same direction—no Denuvo field was visible—but a missing field is an observation about the page at one date. Publishers can add, remove, or change protection, and store labels can be incomplete or delayed.
If your practical concern is performance, the protection label alone would not establish a cause. Use reproducible benchmarks on the same hardware, settings, driver, and game version. The system requirements page reports such bounded launch tests. If your concern is offline access, family sharing, or account authentication, check the current store and license terms for the exact platform.
This guide does not track unauthorized copies, provide bypass instructions, or link to status sites centered on obtaining the game outside official stores. Those sources do not answer the narrow consumer-disclosure question safely or reliably.
What official pages disclose
The Steam listing was checked directly. It showed the third-party EULA requirement but no readable Denuvo or third-party DRM warning. Focus's official game and FAQ material did not publish a protection statement. Steam's absence of a label can support the sentence “the current inspected listing does not name Denuvo.” It cannot support a quotation attributed to the developer saying “there is no Denuvo.”
SteamDB and PCGamingWiki were also consulted through research references, and neither exposed a Denuvo field in the retained material. Those are useful technical indexes but are not publisher contracts. Automatic access restrictions prevented a complete independent scrape of some pages, another reason to avoid an absolute claim.
The EULA itself should not be conflated with anti-tamper. Many games require acceptance of publisher terms without using the same executable protection. Conversely, a storefront can omit implementation detail. Name the actual disclosure instead of assuming one legal label proves another technology.
What absence can prove
Absence can prove only that the research did not find the statement in the inspected sources. A careful status page names which pages were checked and when. It does not upgrade silence into a permanent policy. That distinction matters because readers may use the answer for purchasing, offline-play, or performance decisions.
A stronger “no Denuvo” conclusion would require an explicit publisher or developer statement, a clear current store disclosure policy known to be complete, or authoritative technical evidence scoped to a specific build. The research found none of those. It therefore uses a dated negative finding rather than a timeless negative fact.
To be confirmed: Focus Entertainment and Asobo Studio did not provide an explicit DRM or Denuvo statement in the collected materials. Recheck the current store and EULA before purchase.
Platform builds can also differ. Steam, Epic, and PC Game Pass were described by Focus staff as separate builds. Even if one technical observation were reliable for Steam, it should not automatically be extended to every PC storefront without evidence.
Why unofficial claims are weak
Google results included a TechPowerUp report about a leaked build and malware risk. The article's circumstances may be consistent with ineffective or absent protection, but it did not provide an official developer declaration. More importantly, pages centered on unauthorized distribution attract dangerous files and do not offer a safe verification path for ordinary players.
YouTube research found no qualifying narrated video directly discussing the game's Denuvo or DRM status after checking the fixed query and related variants. Search results were dominated by reviews, performance tests, story videos, and silent walkthroughs. A missing video source leaves the topic thin; it does not invite the guide to infer an answer from unrelated performance footage.
Discord produced one community guess that the game “might” use Denuvo, with no source or staff confirmation. A guess is evidence of community uncertainty, not of the technology. It is intentionally not repeated as a competing factual conclusion.
Performance and safety
Do not attribute stutter, crashes, or frame-time behavior to DRM without controlled comparison. The launch performance sources identify shader behavior, graphics settings, resolution, VRAM, and specific hardware. None of the collected official evidence names Denuvo as a cause. A correlation claimed in a general discussion is not a diagnosis for this title.
Purchase and update through official stores. Do not run an unknown executable that promises to remove protection or improve performance. The collected leak report specifically warned that packages circulating under the game's name could contain malware. This site does not reproduce names, links, steps, or operational details from that ecosystem.
For offline or ownership questions, read the current store's offline-mode documentation, account requirements, EULA, and refund policy. Those rules can affect use even when a particular anti-tamper brand is absent. “No Denuvo label found” should never be rewritten as “no account, license, or DRM conditions exist.”
For a future update, the strongest evidence would be an explicit publisher statement or a current storefront disclosure naming the technology. A database flag or community screenshot can trigger a recheck, but it should not silently replace first-party wording. The page answer and research date must be revised together.
Sources and limits
The main check used the official Steam store page and official Focus materials. PCGamingWiki and SteamDB were consulted as secondary technical indexes through the research pass. No qualifying narrated video or official Discord statement confirmed the technology. The one community message was explicitly an unsupported guess.
This page is a cautious negative-evidence report dated August 30–31, 2026. It does not claim a permanent DRM policy, diagnose performance, or provide unauthorized access information. Any later explicit publisher statement or current storefront disclosure should supersede it. If no stronger evidence appears, the honest answer remains “not officially confirmed.”