Resonance: A Plague Tale Legacy released on August 27, 2026 for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC. The collected launch-time reporting placed the synchronized unlock at 16:00 UTC, which was 09:00 PDT, 12:00 EDT, 17:00 BST, and 18:00 CEST on August 27. In China, Singapore, and Hong Kong, that conversion became 00:00 on August 28. The official Focus announcement confirms the date and platforms; the hour-by-hour regional table came from launch reporting and an official time graphic referenced by the game's community channels.
Direct answer
If you are checking after launch, the game should already be available in supported regions rather than waiting for a future countdown. Steam lists August 27, 2026 as the release date, and Focus Entertainment announced the same day for PS5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC. Xbox also described the game as a day-one Game Pass release. The historical unlock hour matters mainly for understanding why some regions show August 28 even though official marketing uses August 27.
The most consistent launch-time figure in the collected sources is 16:00 UTC. GameRant published a full region table and GAMES.GG gave the corresponding 09:00 Pacific anchor. The official release-date trailer did not speak the time in its subtitles, so the trailer supports the date but not every regional conversion. That distinction matters: a title or promotional graphic can answer one part of the question without proving every detail repeated by a guide.
Global launch schedule
At 16:00 UTC on August 27, Los Angeles was at 09:00 PDT, New York at 12:00 EDT, London at 17:00 BST, and Central Europe at 18:00 CEST. The same moment was midnight on August 28 in China, Singapore, and Hong Kong, 01:00 in Japan, 02:00 in Sydney, and 04:00 in Auckland. These are conversions for the 2026 launch date; daylight-saving rules and offsets should not be reused for an unrelated future event.
The date difference is not evidence of a delayed Asian or Pacific release. It is the ordinary result of one synchronized global time crossing midnight. Storefront libraries may also display a local date independently from promotional copy. When two sources appear to disagree by one calendar day, compare the UTC instant before assuming a platform delay. A local console storefront may use account region, while a news article may use the author's timezone.
The official Discord announcement channel pointed members to a global release-time image on August 25 and repeated the August 27 platform launch on August 26. The research log counts those as official messages, but it does not reproduce the image here. That community reference strengthens the existence of an official regional schedule while keeping the exact conversions attributable to the sources that printed them.
Platforms at release
Focus confirmed PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|S, and PC. The Steam store identifies Asobo Studio as developer and Focus Entertainment as publisher. Xbox's own announcement adds Xbox on PC, cloud access, and supported handheld language within its Game Pass ecosystem. There is no collected official launch listing for PlayStation 4 or Xbox One, so this page does not treat previous-generation consoles as supported merely because earlier A Plague Tale games appeared elsewhere.
On PC, the collected launch material names Steam and Epic Games Store, while Xbox provides a separate PC Game Pass build. A Focus staff message noted that Steam, Epic, and PC Game Pass use different builds. That does not automatically mean different content, but it is a reason to identify the storefront when reporting launch trouble or version behavior. A file, patch, or workaround intended for one build should not be assumed to apply to another.
What we know about preload
Preload is the least stable part of the launch record. GameRant reported that console preload opened forty-eight hours before release and also stated that Steam and Epic users could preinstall. The Focus release article confirmed the date, platforms, Game Pass, and Xbox Play Anywhere, but the readable page did not give a platform-by-platform preload schedule. The release trailer subtitles also did not state preload timing.
For that reason, the correct historical wording is that preload was reported, not that one universal forty-eight-hour rule was officially verified for every storefront and region. Store eligibility can depend on purchase status, subscription, account region, and platform policy. A promotional countdown also may describe one console while a guide generalizes it to PC. The collected evidence does not justify that generalization.
To be confirmed: The research set did not preserve a complete first-party preload table for every platform. Treat any exact preload window as historical platform-specific reporting, not a permanent entitlement.
How to verify access
After release, use the library page attached to the account that owns the game or subscription. Confirm that the correct edition is present, the region matches the store account, and the platform is one of the supported current-generation systems. On Game Pass, confirm that the account has the appropriate tier and that the title remains in the catalog. The separate Game Pass guide explains why cloud access wording and subscription-library access are not always identical.
If the store still shows a purchase button, do not use the old countdown as proof that the account should own the game. Check transaction history, subscription status, and the exact product page. If installation is present but launch fails, move to the PC troubleshooting guide rather than changing the system clock or downloading unofficial unlock tools. Launch-time information explains availability; it is not a license-bypass instruction.
For a support report, include storefront, account region, platform, local time, and the product page being used. Screenshots of the store state are more useful than a copied timezone table. On PC, add the build source—Steam, Epic, or PC Game Pass—because support staff and community helpers may otherwise recommend steps for the wrong installation.
Sources and limits
The release date and platform list come from the official Steam store and Focus Entertainment's release announcement. The regional schedule was compared against GameRant's launch-time guide and the GAMES.GG release guide. Official Discord announcements referenced the global-time graphic, while the release-date trailer supported the date but did not narrate the hourly table.
This is a historical launch page researched on August 30–31, 2026. It does not promise current catalog availability, current regional pricing, or a reusable preload policy. Store pages and subscription catalogs can change after the research date. Where official material did not state an exact preload condition, the page preserves that limit rather than upgrading third-party reporting into a universal official rule.